Discover user rights in SharePoint

Among the top items capable of derailing your whole day or week are requests from auditors.  Who has access to a resource?  When did they exercise those rights?  In the pas few months, I have had several requests of this sort related to SharePoint rights.  Since I have once again started working on our SharePoint 2010-to-2013 migration project, and most of the SharePoint Powershell cmdlets were fresh in my mind, I though I would take a crack at this somewhat intimidating task.

As usual, writing a useful script took more time that I would have liked, but I am fairly pleased with the results.  The final product makes heavy use of Regular Expressions.  Special thanks go out to RegEx Hero, an online .NET regular expressions tester:
http://regexhero.net/tester/
AND, of course, to the Regular-Expressions.info site:
http://www.regular-expressions.info/

Using .NET-style RegEx named capture groups, I was able to eliminate redundant loops though the SharePoint web site list, thus making it possible to crawl all SharePoint web and site-level ACLs in only a few minutes. Hurray!

This code will work only on SharePoint 2010 farms that use Windows authentication. There may be limitations related to sites with multiple Windows domains as well. I will need to update this script in the near future to handle claims authentication, but we will cross that bridge when we come to it.

The script has some pretty convoluted loops that may not make any intuitive sense… I have tried to insert comments to explain what is going on. If you do choose to use this script in your environment and find it difficult to understand, feel free to contact me with questions.

Owing to the agonizing pain of attempting to embed complex PowerShell code in WordPress, this script now is provided as a GitHub “Gist”. Enjoy!

