OpsMgr Severity/Priority Levels: “What ‘IS’ is.”

When working with OpsMgr overrides, I am always forgetting the mappings between alert severities and their corresponding numeric values in the database.  It is important to keep this straight, because if you set your overrides incorrectly, you risk either suppressing all notification for an alert, or even worse… increasing the number of notifications that you receive!

Marius provide the following mapping info in his fine blog on MSDN:


Alert Severity – Its corresponding integer value

Critical – 2
Warning – 1
Information – 0

Alert Priority – Its corresponding integer value

High – 2
Medium – 1
Low – 0

Read more here:


So remember, when downgrading an alert from "Critical" to "Warning", change in from "Severity 2" to "Severity 1".  "Severity 3" will just cause more paging… TWTTTTH!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s